Liberty Volleyball to Host the 1st and 2nd Rounds of the NIVC, Saturday and Sunday

Liberty Volleyball to Host the 1st and 2nd Rounds of the NIVC, Saturday and Sunday

LYNCHBURG, Va. ( - The Liberty volleyball team will be making its first postseason appearance since 2012, as the Lady Flames have been selected to compete in the 2019 National Invitational Volleyball Championship (NIVC). Liberty will host first and second-round matches on Saturday and Sunday at the Vines Center. The Lady Flames will take on La Salle (15-13) at 7 p.m. on Saturday. The winner of that match will take on the winner of High Point (20-12) and Morehead State (23-9) on Sunday at 3 p.m.

The Lady Flames (19-11) went 11-5 in ASUN Conference play this season, finishing in a tie for third place in league standings. Liberty advanced to the ASUN semifinals for the second year in a row before falling to eventual champion Kennesaw State. The Lady Flames rank 22nd in the nation in blocks per set and for the first time in program history, they have three players (Anna Gragg, Kailey Macy, Casey Goodwin) who have posted 100 or more blocks in the same season.

This will be a ticketed event. Ticket information will be released on when it becomes available.

This will be Liberty's eighth postseason appearance, as the Lady Flames competed in the NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball Championship in 1997, 1999, 2001, 2007, 2008, 2011 and 2012. Liberty has won two postseason sets, taking one set off of California in 2007 and one set at Nebraska in 2008. The Lady Flames' last postseason opponent was Minnesota, as Liberty fell to the Golden Gophers in three sets on Nov. 30, 2012, with set three going 34-23.

Saturday's match will mark the latest in the calendar year that the Lady Flames have played. Liberty fell to Notre Dame on Dec. 5, 1997 in their first-ever NCAA Tournament match and fell in four sets at Nebraksa on Dec. 5, 2008. The Lady Flames played on Dec. 2 in both 1999 (at Florida) and 2011 (at Penn State), giving them four matches in the month of December.

The ASUN Conference is an NCAA Division I league with nine member institutions committed to Building Winners for Life. The ASUN meets the challenge of maintaining the highest standards in academic and athletic achievement through a true balance between student and athlete. Six ASUN schools reside in Nielsen Top 50 national media markets, and all nine are in top 80 markets. The ASUN includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Liberty University, Lipscomb University, New Jersey Institute of Technology, University of North Alabama, University of North Florida and Stetson University. Bellarmine University in Louisville, Ky., joins the ASUN for the 2020-21 academic year.