UNF, KSU & FGCU Conclude @ASUNVolleyball Regular Season With Victories

UNF, KSU & FGCU Conclude @ASUNVolleyball Regular Season With Victories

Championship Bracket | Full Championship Information

ATLANTA, Ga. - Three Saturday contests concluded the ASUN Conference Volleyball Regular Season with North Florida, Kennesaw State and FGCU earning victories. North Florida took down NJIT, while Kennesaw State defeated Jacksonville in straight sets. The Eagles clinched the ASUN Regular Season Title outright with a win over Liberty. 

ASUN Conference Volleyball Results - Saturday, November 10th
North Florida 3, NJIT 0
Kennesaw State 3, Jacksonville 0
FGCU 3, Liberty 1

2018 ASUN Volleyball Championship Field 
#1 FGCU: For the first time since 2012, the Eagles are the regular season champs of the ASUN. With their regular season crown, they will host the ASUN Championship in 2019. FGCU flies into the championship on a program-record 13 game winning streak. The Eagles boast one of the top players in the ASUN in sophomore outside hitter, Cortney VanLiew. VanLiew led the conference this season in kills and kills/set. Head coach Matt Botsford also has one of the best setters in the league in Maggie Rick. Rick recently became FGCU's all-time leader in assists. As the No. 1 seed, FGCU will enjoy a first round a bye in the ASUN Championship.

#2 Kennesaw State: The Owls have been one of the top teams in the ASUN all season. Being in first place for most of the year, KSU set a program record for consecutive wins as they enjoyed a win streak of 14 in a row. Kennesaw State will have some home cooking at the ASUN Championship as they were the 2017 regular season champ and will be the host. Lauren Chastang had been one of the better players in the ASUN this year as she ranks third in kills/set and fourth in total kills. The Owls look to repeat their title from last year and head to their second-straight NCAA Tournament. Kennesaw State holds a bye and will get the winner of Lipscomb and North Florida. 

#3 Lipscomb: Lipscomb will be making their 14th consecutive appearance in the ASUN Championship and seek their first title since 2016. The Bisons will face No. 6 North Florida on Thursday, November 15th. Lipscomb took both matches against UNF this season, winning 3-1 both times. Lipscomb boasts one of the top players in the ASUN in Carlyle Nusbaum, winner of the 2016 and 2017 ASUN Player of the Year Award. 

#4 Liberty: Liberty becomes the first, first year member to make the ASUN Championship since ETSU did in 2005. The Flames have turned it on in conference play, winning 10 games in league play. Casey Goodwin, a two-time ASUN Player of the Week, leads the Flames in to the championship. Liberty squares off against Stetson in the first round, a team they did not surrender a set to during the regular season.

#5 Stetson: For the first time since 2015, Stetson is back in the ASUN Championship. They led the NCAA in win improvement, as they finished the season with 16 wins, 13 more than what they had in 2017. The Hatters are led by a stout front line of Hao Jin and Brianna Schmid, and have one of the best liberos in the league in Chelcie Spence. Stetson will get Liberty in a match which will open up the ASUN Championship on Thursday, November 15. 

#6 North Florida: The Ospreys make their fifth straight appearance in the ASUN Championship and eighth in the last nine seasons. North Florida has a few of the best offensive players in the ASUN in setter Madilyn McCarty, middle blocker Taryn Griffey and outside hitter Gabby O'Connell. McCarty has dished out over 3,000 assists in her collegiate career, while Griffey ranks in the top-five in kills and kills/set. O'Connell has notched 11 double-doubles this season and leads all outside hitters in digs with 314. 

Overall ASUN Conference Volleyball Standings
Team ASUN Record Overall Record
#1 FGCU* 15-1 24-6
#2 Kennesaw State* 14-2 23-6
#3 Lipscomb* 12-4 17-11
#4 Liberty* 10-6 14-16
#5 Stetson* 8-8 16-12
#6 North Florida* 6-10 11-21
Jacksonville 3-13 5-24
NJIT 2-14 4-28
North Alabama 2-14 4-22

 *Clinched a spot in the ASUN Championship