FGCU Picked to Win Seventh Title; Tindell, Buhigas & Rawlins Earn Top Honors

FGCU Picked to Win Seventh Title; Tindell, Buhigas & Rawlins Earn Top Honors

Full Preseason All-Conference Awards

LakePoint, Ga. – The ASUN Conference announced the 2016 Women's Soccer Preseason All-Conference Awards on Wednesday afternoon as voted on by the eight league head coaches.

FGCU enters the season as the conference favorite to claim its seventh-straight ASUN Regular Season title as the Eagles collected seven first-place votes and 63 points, while the coaches predicted Lipscomb to finish in second place.

FGCU's Tabby Tindell and Lipscomb's Anna Buhigas were unanimous selections as the Preseason Player and Goalkeeper of the Year after receiving the honors at the end of the 2015 season, while the Bisons' Niamh Rawlins earned the Preseason Defensive Player of the Year accolade.

2016 ASUN Women's Soccer Preseason All-Conference Team:
Anna Buhigas, Sr., Lipscomb – The two-time ASUN Goalkeeper of the Year, Buhigas totaled an ASUN single-season record 13 shutouts in 2015 and led the league with an .870 save percentage. She enters her senior season with 28 career shutouts; 10 away from setting the ASUN record.

Camille Knudstrup, So., FGCU – An All-Freshman selection last season, Knudstrup started in all 21 matches totaling six points with one goal and four assists. Knudstrup tallied the game-winning goal against USC Upstate.
Ashley Parks, Jr., FGCU – Parks returns to the Eagles defense after missing the majority of 2015 with an injury. She has totaled seven assists in her FGCU career entering 2016.  
Lauren Short, So., Jacksonville – Short garnered First Team All-Conference & All-Freshman recognition last season after starting in all 17 matches. She helped the JU defense to a 1.41 GAA & three shutouts.
Niamh Rawlins, Jr., Lipscomb – The ASUN Preseason Defensive Player of the Year returns after helping the Bisons defense to a 0.71 GAA in 2015 and 13 total shutouts. Rawlins started in all 20 games last season and tallied one goal to earn First Team All-Conference honors.

Nikki Hudson, Jr., FGCU – A First Team All-Conference Selection, Hudson tallied five goals and 11 points for the Eagles in 2015. Hudson scored a goal in the ASUN Championship match against Lipscomb, and compiled over 1800 minutes played.
Ali Rogers, Sr., FGCU – Rogers scored the game-winner against FIU and netted a goal in the 2015 ASUN Semifinal against Stetson.  She saw action in both rounds of the Eagles NCAA Tournament run, against USF and No. 3 Duke. Rogers logs a career total of seven goals, four assists, and 18 total points.
Paulina Speckmaier, Sr., FGCU – As a junior, Speckmaier earned All-Conference Second Team and All-Tournament Team recognition. She recorded four-straight matches with at least one point at FGCU. She capped the 2015 season with seven assists, six goals and 19 points in 21 matches. 
Joëlle d'Entremont, Jr., Jacksonville – Named to the ASUN Second Team last year, d'Entremont started in 13 matches for the Dolphins. She scored a goal to help Jacksonville secure a tie against FGCU. d'Entremont topped the team with three assists and totaled five points. 
Brittney Reed, Sr., Kennesaw State – A 2015 ASUN Preseason All-Conference Team selection, Reed was KSU's leading scorer grabbing seven goals and 15 points last season. Reed netted seven goals including six in KSU's season opener before a season-ending injury.

*Tabby Tindell, Sr., FGCU – The two-time ASUN Player of the Year, Tindell enters her senior campaign with 126 career points, 52 goals & 22 assists. She ranks in the top-eight of the ASUN career record books for points and assists after leading the ASUN in goals (17), assists (10) and points (44) in 2015.
*Sarah Collins, Jr., Stetson – Collins tied the Stetson single-season record for goals last season as she tallied 12 to go along with four assists and two game-winners. She earned First Team All-Conference honors for her efforts following an All-Freshman campaign in 2014.
Maycie McKay, So., Lipscomb – The 2015 ASUN Freshman of the Year, McKay tied for fourth in points (17) and goals (7) as she helped Lipscomb finish as the regular season and tournament runner-up. She joined Tindell & Collins as First Team All-Conference forwards in 2015.

* - Denotes a unanimous selection to all-conference team; A tie in voting resulted in a 13-person team

2016 ASUN Conference Women's Soccer Preseason Coaches Poll
Pl. Team 1st Place Votes Points 2015 Record
1. FGCU 7 63 14-6-2 (6-0-1)
2. Lipscomb 1 56 12-4-4 (6-1-0)
3. Jacksonville
43 6-8-3 (4-2-1)
4. Stetson
40 10-8-1 (3-3-1)
5. Kennesaw State   32 6-10-3 (3-3-1)
6. North Florida   28 4-11-2 (2-4-1)
7. USC Upstate   14 3-13-2 (1-5-1)
8. NJIT   12 2-14-0 (0-7-0)

For the fifth-straight year, the ASUN took to social media to poll the fans for the conference preseason superlative awards. North Florida's Krista Colubiale landed the Fan-Voted Preseason Player of the Year with 534 votes, while NJIT's Dana Schules collected 362 ballots to earn the Fan-Voted Preseason Defensive Player of the Year accolade. Jacksonville's Sara Wicks corralled the Fan-Voted Preseason Goalkeeper of the Year honor with 312 votes.

The 24th season of ASUN Women's Soccer season begins on Friday, August 19th with all eight teams in action.