Escobar Lands UNF's Second-Straight #ASUNTF Indoor Scholar-Athlete

Escobar Lands UNF's Second-Straight #ASUNTF Indoor Scholar-Athlete

2019 ASUN Men's Indoor Track & Field All-Academic Team

ATLANTA, Ga. - George Escobar became the second-straight student-athlete from North Florida to earn the ASUN Conference Men's Indoor Track and Field Scholar-Athlete of the Year, announced Tuesday by the league office. Escobar was one of 13 student-athletes named to the All-Academic Team.

Holding a 3.94 cumulative GPA in Accounting, Escobar joins Bobby Harris as Scholar-Athletes from North Florida. He also joins his brother, JT Escobar, who claimed the ASUN Men's Basketball Scholar-Athlete of the Year honor, earlier in the month. At the ASUN Indoor Championship, Escobar accounted for 16 points or the Ospreys as he broke three records coming in the 400-meter Run, 4x400m Relay & Distance Medley Relay.

The All-Academic Team recognizes student-athletes who excel both on the track and in the classroom and exemplify the ASUN's mission of Building Winners for Life. All the members of the team boast a 3.30 cumulative grade point average or better and participated in at least half of their team's events.

2019 ASUN Men's Indoor Track and Field All-Academic Team
*George Escobar, North Florida (Junior | 3.94 | Accounting)
*Jordan Hewing, Kennesaw State (Sophomore | 3.60 | Information Systems)
*Jovaine Atkinson, Liberty (Junior | 3.78 | Aeronautics)
*Jonny Saintil, Liberty (Senior | 3.45 | Psychology)
*Kyle Johnson, Lipscomb (Senior | 3.42 | Engineering)
*Ryan Speer, Lipscomb^ (Senior | 3.81 | Business)
*Gavin Camby, NJIT (Sophomore | 3.96 | Electrical Engineering)
*Calvin Gould, NJIT^ (Senior | 3.78 | Civil Engineering)
*Rob Leverone, North Florida (Junior | 3.64 | Business Management / Transportation & Logistics)
Reilly Stroot, Liberty (Sophomore | 3.31 | Biblical Studies)
Zach Israel, Lipscomb (Junior | 3.37 | Accounting)
Nathan Morgan, Lipscomb (Senior | 4.00 | Accounting)
Spencer Shaw, North Florida (Sophomore | 3.56 | Finance)

* - Denotes Unanimous Selection
^ - Denotes Three-Time Selection