Liberty Continues Conference Title Streak; Flames Win Nine Events

Liberty Continues Conference Title Streak; Flames Win Nine Events

Full ResultsChampionship Page | Meet History | Photo Gallery

 Liberty collected its 22nd-straight indoor conference title as the Flames won the 2019 ASUN Conference Indoor Track & Field Championship with a score of 190. Kennesaw State took home runner-up honors with 139 ahead of Lipscomb and North Florida tied at 78. KSU's Paris Williams totaled 26 points in four events to earn the Championship Most Valuable Performer accolade for the first time in his career.

Liberty finished its first ASUN Conference meet with nine event victories and five championship record performances. Alejandro Zapata set new league records in the 200m (21.04) and 400m (46.15), while Azaria Kirwa rewrote a new standard in the 5,000-meter run (14:17.38). In the Shot Put, Jose Ballivian tossed a record throw of 17.89m, while the Flames' 4x400m Relay squad broke the previous conference record in 3:11.65. Liberty added event victories in three other field events courtesy of Reilly Stroot (Pole Vault), Jonathan Saintil (Triple Jump) & Branson Rolle (Long Jump). Kysheen Myrick added a Heptathlon event win with a total of 4,768 points.

Kennesaw State secured runner-up honors thanks to event wins in the 60m Dash (Cameron Bolden), 60m Hurdles (Paris Williams) & Weight Throw (Chuck McConville). Bolden became a three-time champion in the 60-meter Dash as a junior. Lipscomb tied KSU with three event victories as Jonathan Schwind garnered gold medals in the 800m (1:52.30) and Mile (4:08.29) as the Distance Medley Relay squad also took first in record-setting fashion of 9:57.31.

Noah Perkins and Jaasiel Torres gave North Florida two event victories with first-place showings in the 3,000m (8:12.83) and High Jump (2.02m). NJIT finished with 40 points at the conference meet to round out the field.

ASUN's Championship Event Winners
Event Men's  ASUN Meet
 60m Cameron Bolden, Kennesaw State (6.81) 6.66
 200m Alejandro Zapata, Liberty (21.04) 21.04
 400m  Alejandro Zapata, Liberty (46.15) 46.15
 800m Jonathan Schwind, Lipscomb (1:52.30) 1:50.97
 Mile Jonathan Schwind, Lipscomb (4:08.29) 4:08.15
 3000m Noah Perkins, North Florida (8:12.83) 8:12.83
 5000m Azaria Kirwa, Liberty (14:17.38)  14:17.38
 60 Hurdles Paris Williams, Kennesaw State (7.93) 7.85
 4x400m Liberty (3:11.65) 3:11.65
 DMR Lipscomb (9:57.31) 9:57.31
 High Jump Jaasiel Torres, North Florida (2.02m) 2.23m
 Pole Vault Reilly Stroot, Liberty (4.76m) 5.20m
 Long Jump Branson Rolle, Liberty (7.11m) 7.76m
 Triple Jump  Jonathan Saintil, Liberty (14.89m) 16.04m
 Shot Put Jose Ballivian, Liberty (17.89m) 17.89m
 Weight Throw  Chuck McConville, Kennesaw State (18.57m) 19.88m
 Heptathlon Kysheen Myrick, Liberty (4,768 pts) 5,600 pts

For the first time in history, the ASUN Conference Indoor Track & Field Championship will feature a broadcast element as the league office has partnered with Liberty University and its on-campus broadcast studio to air a Championship Studio Recap Show on ESPN+. The live recap show is set for Saturday, Feb. 23rd at 7 PM ET once the conference meet concludes. 

Hosted by Mike Hagen and Todd Patulski, the ASUN Indoor Championship Studio Recap on ESPN+ will feature footage from throughout the championship including interviews from trophy winners and the league's Championship's Most Valuable Performers. The hour-long studio recap expands the league's ESPN championship coverage to a 12th sport and is the first-ever ASUN Track & Field broadcast on the ESPN family of networks.