2015 #ASunMSoc Postseason All-Conference Awards Announced

2015 #ASunMSoc Postseason All-Conference Awards Announced

2015 Men's Soccer Postseason Awards and Honors

MACON, Ga. - FGCU claimed four of the top-five Atlantic Sun Men's Soccer postseason awards as Rodrigo Saravia, Aaron Guillen, Nathan Ingham and Bob Butehorn took home awards. USC Upstate's Gordon Wild earned the A-Sun Freshman of Year honor, while Butehorn split the Coach of the Year honor with North Florida's Derek Marinatos.

Saravia becomes the first FGCU player to win the A-Sun Player of the Year honor in program history. He anchors the middle of the pitch for the six-time regular season champions and played the most minutes (1,001) of any Eagle non-defender or goalie in the regular season. He is a key cog in the midfield that led FGCU to having the A-Sun's best goals against average and most shutouts. He also was named to the First Team All-Conference for the second year in a row.

Saravia's teammate Aaron Guillen collects his first A-Sun Defensive Player of the Year honor, the second for FGCU in league history. Guillen becomes the second FGCU player to be named to the First Team All-Conference three times. Primarily a central defender, Guillen has led the Eagles' defense to a 0.66 goals against average and conceded a league-low nine goals all year. He started all 13 matches and played 1,208 total minutes. 

FGCU's Nathan Ingham collected his first A-Sun Goalkeeper of the Year honor after leading the league in shutouts (7) and goals against average (0.44) including a 0.19 GAA in conference play. During conference play, Ingham raised his save percentage to .933, while only allowing one goal in all five matches combined. With his seven shutouts this season, Ingham became the A-Sun's career leader in shutouts with 26. 

Upstate's Gordon Wild became the first Spartan to garner the A-Sun Freshman of the Year honor. Wild led the A-Sun with 14 goals scored this season, which also ranks him second in all of Division I Men's Soccer. He leads the nation in several offensive categories including shots per game (4.75), goals per game (1.17) and shots on goal per game (2.42). Wild was named A-Sun Player of the Week four times this season, including three consecutive weeks. 

For the first time in the A-Sun's Men's Soccer history, the Coach of the Year honor was shared by two head coaches. FGCU's Bob Butehorn earned his third career Coach of the Year recognition after leading his Eagles to a sixth-straight A-Sun Regular Season title. North Florida's Derek Marinatos collects his first career Coach of the Year award after guiding his Ospreys to their first-ever A-Sun Regular Season Championship. Both coaches led their teams to a 4-0-1 record and will be hosting the semifinal rounds of the A-Sun Championship this Saturday. 

Sophomore forward Albert Ruiz joined his three other Eagle teammates on the First Team All-Conference. Ruiz became FGCU's penalty kick specialist over the course of the season as he converted all five of his penalty shots. He is tied for third in the conference with six total goals. Lipscomb's Ivan Alvarado and Logan Paynter were selected to the First Team All-Conference. For Alvarado, it marks the second-straight season he was picked as a first teamer, while Paynter had a breakthrough season for the Bisons with a team-high six goals. 

Ejiroghene Mrabure was named to the First Team All-Conference for the first time in his career as Jacksonville's only selection. Mrabure set a new single-season career-high with five goals scored this year and led the Dolphins back into the A-Sun Championship field. Jacksonville will be in action Thursday against USC Upstate in Fort Myers. 

In that matchup, the Dolphins will face three First Team All-Conference selections for USC Upstate. Defender Tucker Beerman and midfielder Leon Schwarzer joined Gordon Wild in making the team. Beerman has started in all 11 games he appeared in and served as the team's captain this year. He anchored the back line and helped Upstate get to back-to-back postseason appearances. Schwarzer formed a dynamic duo with Wild in attack for the Spartans. He scored six goals and added a team-high five assists to total 17 points, second-most behind Wild this year.

Co-Regular Season Champions North Florida were represented with three members on the First Team All-Conference. Defender Jay Bolt, midfielder Alex Morrell and forward Helge Pietschmann were selected by the league's head coaches. Morrell set the program's Division I career assist record this year, and ranked second in the A-Sun with four total assists. The Ospreys finished the season with eight wins, the most of any league team this year. Stetson's Lucas Diniz rounded out the A-Sun First Team selections. Diniz, the 2015 A-Sun Scholar-Athlete of the Year, ranked second in the league with nine goals scored. It marks his second all-conference selection, after being named to second team last year. 

The 2015 A-Sun Men's Soccer Championship begins on Thursday, November 5 with a first-round match between No. 4 USC Upstate vs. No. 5 Jacksonville in Fort Myers, Fla. The match will be broadcast live on ASun.TV.

All-Atlantic Sun First Team
*GK - Nathan Ingham, FGCU
*D - Aaron Guillen, FGCU
*D - Jay Bolt, North Florida
D - Tucker Beerman, USC Upstate
*MF - Alex Morrell, North Florida
MF - Rodrigo Saravia, FGCU
MF - Ivan Alvarado, Lipscomb
MF - Leon Schwarzer, USC Upstate
MF - Lucas Diniz, Stetson
*F - Gordon Wild, USC Upstate
F - Alber Ruiz, FGCU
F - Ejiroghene Mrabure, Jacksonville
F - Logan Paynter, Lipscomb
F - Helge Pietschmann, North Florida
- A tie in voting led to 14-person first team

All-Atlantic Sun Second Team
GK - Kyle Nasta, North Florida
D - Nicolas Samayoa, FGCU
D - Joe Kerridge, Lipscomb
D - Simen Solstad, North Florida
D - Jeppe Moe, Stetson    
MF - Miguel Jaime, FGCU
MF - Alberto Escobedo, Jacksonville
MF - Anthony Cedano, Lipscomb
MF - Josh Castellanos, North Florida
F - Dylan Sacramento, FGCU
F - Matt Kerridge, Lipscomb
F - Milan Kovacs, North Florida
- A tie in the voting led to a 12-person second team

All-Atlantic Sun Freshmen Team
F - Gordon Wild, USC Upstate
D - Preston Kilwien, FGCU
MF - Dennis Zapata, FGCU
MF - Alberto Escobedo, Jacksonville
MF - Ignazio Muccilli, Jacksonville
F - Wayne Campbell, Jacksonville
D - Cole Brown, Lipscomb
F - Logan Paynter, Lipscomb
MF - Ivan Castro, North Florida
MF - Julien Coulomb, Stetson
D - Ian McCauley, Stetson
* - Denotes unanimous selection

View the full 2015 A-Sun Men's Soccer First Team All-Conference selections and superlative award winners.

Posted by Atlantic Sun Conference on Wednesday, November 4, 2015

Back To Top