North Florida Sweeps Superlative Honors; Knowles Tabbed Top Golfer

North Florida Sweeps Superlative Honors; Knowles Tabbed Top Golfer

2019 ASUN Conference Men's Golf All-Conference Awards

BRASELTON, Ga. - North Florida's Philip Knowles added to a stellar senior campaign by earning the ASUN Conference Men's Golfer of the Year accolade, while his teammate Cody Carroll secured the Freshman of the Year honor. North Florida's Scott Schroeder collected the Coach of the Year award for the seventh time in his career.

A three-time First Team All-Conference selection, Knowles becomes the second Osprey to claim Player of the Year honors joining three-time winner Sean Dale (2010, 2012, 2013). A senior from Bradenton, Fla., Knowles played in every event for UNF this season and owned a team-best 70.97 stroke average. He enters the ASUN Championship as the top-ranked conference golfer at 23rd nationally via GolfStat. He matched a program record with a score of 63 at the Gator Invitational and he added a tournament title at the Shoal Creek Intercollegiate and a runner-up showing at the Tar Heel Intercollegiate.

Knowles is joined by four other upperclassmen on the First Team including his teammate Travis Trace. Liberty placed two individuals with Ervin Chang & Gabe Lench as the Flames sit 20th currently in GolfStat rankings, while Jacksonville's Eduardo Carrete rounded out the first team.

Carroll, the ASUN Freshman of the Year, joins four previous Osprey winners with Michael Mattiace (2017), Joey Petronio (2012), Kevin Phelan (2010) & Jeff Dennis (2006). This season, Carroll played in all nine events and posted a 73.96 average including six rounds under par including a career-low 68 at the Shoal Creek Invite. He capped the season with a runner-up showing at Shoal Creek to finished the regular season with four top-25 finishes.

North Florida's Scott Schroeder earned his seventh ASUN Coach of the Year honor after leading the Ospreys to a 15th-place ranking in the most recent GolfStat rankings. UNF won two events over the course of the season; the Quail Valley Collegiate & General Hackler Championship, while adding seven other top-five performances.

2019 Men's Golf Postseason Awards
Unanimous Player of the Year: Philip Knowles, North Florida
Freshman of the Year: Cody Carroll, North Florida
Coach of the Year: Scott Schroeder, North Florida

ASUN First Team All-Conference
*Philip Knowles, North Florida
Eduardo Carrete, Jacksonville
Ervin Chang, Liberty 
Gabe Lench, Liberty 
Travis Trace, North Florida
* - Denotes a unanimous first team selection

ASUN Second Team All-Conference
Andrew Potter, FGCU 
Michael Sakane, Jacksonville 
Wyatt Larkin, Kennesaw State 
Kieran Vincent, Liberty 
Andrew Alligood, North Florida

ASUN All-Freshmen Team
Cody Carroll, North Florida
*Chase Bigham, FGCU
*Tate Heintzelman, FGCU
*Grant Sutliff, Kennesaw State
*Jonathan Yaun, Liberty
* - Denotes a unanimous selection