FGCU's Goodwin Grabs @ASUNMBB Top Honor; Postseason Awards Announced

FGCU's Goodwin Grabs @ASUNMBB Top Honor; Postseason Awards Announced

Full All-Conference Team | Championship Bracket

LakePoint, Ga.
 - FGCU and Jacksonville earned two of the ASUN Conference Men's Basketball top honors on Sunday with the Eagles' Brandon Goodwin and Head Coach Joe Dooley landing the league's Player of the Year and Coach of the Year distinctions. Jacksonville's guard tandem of Devin Harris and JD Notae were tabbed the ASUN Defensive Player of the Year and the Freshman of the Year, while North Florida's Noah Horchler collected the Newcomer of the Year honor.

Goodwin, a two-time First Team All-Conference nod, guided the Eagles to their second-straight ASUN Regular Season title by averaging a team-best 18.4 PPG, 5.7 RPG, 4.8 APG. The senior guard from Norcross, Ga. joins Sherwood Brown (2013) as the second Eagle to earn ASUN Player of the Year honors. In league play, Goodwin increased his averages to 19.6 PPG & 6.1 RPG, while adding 1.7 SPG.

Dooley lands his second-straight ASUN Coach of the Year after the Eagles posted their sixth-straight 20-win season becoming the first team in conference history to accomplish the feat. FGCU enters the ASUN Championship as the No. 1 seed for the second-straight season and third in program history. The Eagles outscored conference foes by 13.9 PPG; the highest margin in the ASUN since the 2011-12 season.

Jacksonville's Harris was a menace for opposing offenses throughout the season as he corrals the ASUN Defensive Player of the Year recognition, the first for the Dolphins since Ayron Hardy in 2009 & 2011. In conference play, the senior from Tampa, Fla. totaled 21 steals, while ranking second in defensive rebounds (6.9) and fifth in minutes played (35.2). He added 13.8 PPG, 8.2 RPG & 6.1 APG.

JD Notae becomes the first ASUN Freshman of the Year from Jacksonville since Haminn Quaintance in 2004 and only the second all-time. The guard from Covington, Ga. led all freshmen this season in scoring (15.4), steals (1.8), three-pointers made per game (1.8) and minutes played (31.4). He set a career-high with 30 points on Dec. 28th, while adding seven 20-point games and two double-doubles.

The ASUN leader in rebounding (8.7), blocks (1.7) and double-doubles (12), North Florida's Noah Horchler becomes the program's first-ever Newcomer of the Year. Setting a career-high with 31 points at USC Upstate, Horchler tallied two 20-point games en route to averaging 11.7 PPG this season. In league play, Horchler's averages increased to 15.1 PPG, 10.8 RPG & 2.1 BPG as he registered eight double-doubles.

ASUN First Team All-Conference: * - Denotes unanimous selection
*Brandon Goodwin, FGCU, Guard, Sr.
*Garrison Mathews, Lipscomb, Guard, Jr.
Zach Johnson, FGCU, Guard, Jr.
Rob Marberry, Lipscomb, Forward, Jr.
Anthony Tarke, NJIT, Guard/Forward, So.

ASUN Second Team All-Conference
Devin Harris, Jacksonville, Guard, Sr.
Nick Masterson, Kennesaw State, Guard, Sr.
Abdul Lewis, NJIT, Forward, Jr.
Noah Horchler, North Florida, Forward, So.
Divine Myles, Stetson, Guard, Sr.

ASUN Conference All-Freshmen Team
*JD Notae, Jacksonville, Guard
*Zach Cooks, NJIT, Guard
*Trip Day, North Florida, Forward
*Abayomi Iyiola, Stetson, Forward
Jalyn Hinton, Jacksonville, Forward

The 2018 ASUN Men's Basketball Championship begins on Monday, Feb. 26th at four separate quarterfinal sites with FGCU, Jacksonville, Lipscomb & NJIT hosting contests. The semifinals take place on Thursday, Mar. 1st, while the ASUN Final tips on Sunday, Mar. 4th at 3 PM ET on ESPN.