Atlantic Sun Conference Statement on Membership

Atlantic Sun Conference Statement on Membership

Statement from Atlantic Sun Commissioner Ted Gumbart:

We thank Northern Kentucky University for their contributions to the Atlantic Sun and wish them well.

In this unique period for higher education and intercollegiate athletics, it is our responsibility, with the full support of our Presidents Council, to continue the active dialogue in evolving a model that aligns the priorities and plans of our current and prospective members. That model reaffirms the primary focus of intercollegiate athletics to be on the student-athletes and their collegiate experience in pursuit of and concluding with a diploma.

Our membership action will continue to be centered on thoughtful, logical membership growth. We have been actively involved in discussions with a number of prospective member institutions. While no invitations to join our conference have been extended, we will provide updates as developments warrant over the coming weeks. 

We appreciate the support of our members and will further our presidential-led effort to build the best Atlantic Sun Conference going forward.

NCAA Rule Note
• NCAA rules require a multisport conference to maintain seven active members to qualify for an automatic bid in men's and women's basketball, and six active members for all other sports. The A-Sun's seven members (FGCU, Jacksonville, Kennesaw State, Lipscomb, North Florida, USC Upstate and Stetson) currently eligible for NCAA postseason participation shall continue to be eligible for all NCAA postseason play, including automatic bids in all sports.