Hatters Claim Fourth Straight ASUN Beach Volleyball Regular Season Title

Follow @ASUNVolleyball

Estero, Fla. -- The first win was for the title.  The second one was to stay perfect.

Stetson won its fourth-straight ASUN regular season championship and clinched the No. 1 seed for next week's ASUN tournament with a 4-1 victory over UNF Saturday afternoon at Estero Community Park.

The 17th-ranked Hatters (27-8) then defeated Jacksonville 5-0 to complete a perfect 10-0 season in ASUN play.

It is the second straight season Stetson has gone 10-0 in the league.

"I was really happy to see us come out against UNF and get those matches that we dropped yesterday," Stetson head coach Kristina Hernandez said.  "We were missing Julie and Lauren this week, and I am proud of us for stepping up and playing so tough.  It was a great weekend for us, being able to go undefeated in conference again, and I am really proud of the team."

Darby Dunn and Sammee Thomas also a completed a dominant 10-0 conference season as a pair, winning twice at the 1 seed on Saturday.  Overall, they won 20 of 21 conference sets played.

"It's a great accomplishment for them to go undefeated in the conference," Hernandez said.

Sunniva Helland-Hansen and Carly Perales went 2-0 at the 2 seed Saturday to improve to 29-6 overall and 8-2 in conference play.  Rachel Noble and Samantha Harris saw their record climb to 24-10 and 9-1.  The Hatters also got wins from Alexa Richardson and Katinka Krahn at the 4 seed and Quinci Birker and Rebecca Ingram at the 5 seed.

Stetson will host the 2018 ASUN Championship next weekend at the Cooper Beach Courts.  The Hatters enter the tournament having won six straight and 24 of their last 27 matches.  

Stetson will face the winner of the Mercer-Jacksonville match Saturday at 1 p.m.   The double elimination tournament runs through Sunday and admission is free.  In addition, all matches will be streamed on ESPN+.

1. Sammee Thomas/Darby Dunn (STET) def. Courtney Miller/Carina Hoff (UNF) 21-15, 21-16
2. Carly Perales/Sunniva Helland-Hansen (STET) def. Taryn Griffey/Chaney Howard (UNF) 22-20, 21-18
3. Samantha Harris/Rachel Noble (STET) def. Callie Workman/Brittany Pase (UNF) 21-15, 21-17
4. Madilyn McCarty/Nicole DeBolt (UNF) def. Alexa Richardson/Katinka Krahn (STET) 21-19, 17-21, 15-13
5. Quinci Birker/Rebecca Ingram (STET) def. Mallory Waggoner/Casey Justice (UNF) 21-15, 21-17


1. Sammee Thomas/Darby Dunn (STET) def. Morgan Dees/Katie Krawczyk (JU) 21-17, 19-21, 15-12
2. Carly Perales/Sunniva Helland-Hansen (STET) def. Mallory Mattingly/Lauren Petersen (JU) 21-10, 21-14
3. Samantha Harris/Rachel Noble (STET) def. Shaylee Befus/Mackenzie Swan (JU) 21-18, 21-15
4. Alexa Richardson/Katinka Krahn (STET) def. Savannah Siegrist/Shelby Babowicz (JU) 21-17, 21-23, 15-10
5. Quinci Birker/Rebecca Ingram (STET) def. Tori Reiser/Bethany Salapek (JU) 21-17, 21-11

Back To Top