Fifth ASUN Conference Hall of Fame Class Inducted Monday Night

Fifth ASUN Conference Hall of Fame Class Inducted Monday Night 

FORT MYERS, Fla. - On Monday night, the ASUN Conference inducted its fifth Hall of Fame Class in a ceremony on the FGCU campus. The conference honored two former student-athlete standouts in FGCU's Carmen Paez and Lipscomb's Ann Mullins, along with a former head coach in the College of Charleston's John Kresse.

Carmen Paez, FGCU, Softball 
In her two years at FGCU, Paez became one of the school's most decorated student-athletes at the Division I and Division II levels. Paez is FGCU career record holder for batting average (.430), slugging percentage (.934) and OPS (1.521), while she racked up a plethora of accolades during her time in Fort Myers including the 2007 D-II National Player of the Year, 2007 South Region Player of the Year, 2008 ASUN Player of the Year, 2008 NFCA National Player of the Year Semifinalist, 2008 Southeast All-Region First Team and 2008 Academic All-District Second Team.

In her initial season in 2007, Paez set D-II records with 28 home runs and 80 RBIs en route to being named the South Region and D-II National Player of the Year as the Eagles went 62-8. In her one year at the D-I level and in the ASUN, Paez was named the 2008 ASUN Player of the Year after hitting 22 home runs and leading FGCU to a share of the league regular season title. Despite only spending two seasons in Fort Myers, Paez sits second with 50 home runs, third with 126 walks, fourth with 148 RBIs and ninth with 134 runs.
A three-time ASUN Player of the Week in her senior season, she led the nation with an on-base percentage of .638 as she racked up a league record 84 walks; seventh-most in NCAA history. Her .928 slugging percentage that season ranked second in the NCAA as she also earned recognition as the FGCU Female Student-Athlete of the Year. She started every game in her FGCU career as the Eagles posted a 110-24 record. Paez graduated from FGCU with a Criminal Justice degree and played briefly in the National Pro Fastpitch league for the New England Riptide. 

Ann Mullins, Lipscomb, Volleyball 
A three-year star at Lipscomb, Mullins laid the bedrock for a long stream of success for the Bisons Volleyball program. In Mullins' final season in Nashville, Lipscomb registered a 20-12 record and claimed the program's first of six ASUN Championship title, winning its first as the No. 4 seed. Her career at Lipscomb began in 2005 as she transferred in from Tennessee after one season. She secured her top spot in program history and one of the best-ever in the league despite playing only three seasons.
With 1,969 career digs in three seasons, Mullins ranks second all-time in conference history and is tops in Lipscomb's storied history. She is the only player in the top-18 of the ASUN record books to have played less than four seasons as she owned the league's all-time record when she graduated. Mullins owns three of the top-eight single-season dig performances in conference history; 689 (2006; 2nd), 657 (2007; 4th) and 637 (2005; T7th). A three-time All-Conference selection, Mullins was tabbed the 2005 Libero of the Year and garnered First Team All-Conference honors the following season. Mullins' name remains plastered across the league record books as she holds the top honors for digs per set in a conference season (2006; 6.41), most digs in a three-set ASUN Championship match (33), most digs in a four-set match (43).
Mullins graduated from Lipscomb University in 2007 with a B.S. in Psychology and then obtained a Masters of Arts in Learning and Teaching. Since her time at Lipscomb, Mullins has remained extremely active in the local Nashville volleyball scene. She currently serves as the Alliance Volleyball Club Executive Director, while also working as the Associate Director of Athletics for Women at Father Ryan High School where she has coached Volleyball for nearly four years.
John Kresse, College of Charleston, Men's Basketball Head Coach 
One of the most decorated coaches in ASUN history, John Kresse collected three Coach of the Year nods to go along with five straight regular-season titles from 1993-98. During his time in the ASUN, Kresse's Cougar squads combined for a 74-6 conference record including an undefeated mark of 16-0 in 1997. Overall, the College of Charleston recorded a 125-23 mark, which sits as the highest winning percentage for any team in league history.
During his time, Kresse excelled as he guided the Cougars in their transition from NAIA to Division I as his team earned back-to-back ASUN Championship titles in 1997 & 1998. The Cougars made three NCAA Tournament appearances under Kresse starting in 1994 with an at-large bid as the Cougars earned a No. 12 seed and posted a 24-4 overall record as Charleston was ineligible for the ASUN Championship. The following two seasons, Kresse and the Cougars earned trips to the NIT and advanced to the Second Round in 1996 with a win against Tennessee in Knoxville. 
Kresse and the Cougars followed the following season with a 75-66 victory against Maryland in the NCAA Tournament First Round as a No. 12 seed, marking the league's second-ever March Madness triumph. The Cougars finished the year with a 29-3 record led by the dangerous tandem of Thaddeous Delaney and Anthony Johnson who claimed Player of the Year status in 1996 & 1997, respectively. In 1998, Kresse guided Charleston to its fifth-straight league regular season with a 14-2 record as the Cougars advanced to their second-straight NCAA Tournament after claiming the conference tournament crown which would be College of Charleston's final season in the ASUN.
Kresse retired from coaching in 2002 as he amassed a 560-143 (.797) record over 23 seasons as his winning percentage is fifth all-time trailing legendary coaches John Wooden, Adolph Rupp and Clair Bee and Mark Few. Prior to joining the ASUN, College of Charleston won the 1983 NAIA National Championship with a 33-5 record. A coaching legend, Kresse never record a losing record on the sidelines and totaled 17 20-win seasons and four 30-win campaigns. He was inducted into the College Basketball Hall of Fame in 2018 alongside Houston's Otis Birdsong, Arizona's Sean Elliott, Arkansas' Sidney Moncrief, North Carolina's Sam Perkins, Morgan State's Marvin Webster and USC's Paul Westphal and former Oregon Tech coach Danny Miles.
The ASUN Conference, a member of NCAA Division I, boasts nine member institutions committed to Building Winners for Life. The ASUN meets the challenge of maintaining the highest standards in academic and athletic achievement with a true balance between student and athlete. The ASUN includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Liberty University, Lipscomb University, New Jersey Institute of Technology, University of North Alabama, University of North Florida and Stetson University. The addition of Bellarmine University in Louisville, Ky., will bring the ASUN membership to ten for the 2020-21 academic year.